Inhalt anspringen

Kreis Euskirchen

Museums in the District of Euskirchen

Apothecary Museum, Bad Muenstereifel

The museum is located in the rooms of an original historical pharmacy dating from 1806, with laboratory, materials store, herb garden and Stephinsky-study. The main focus of the museum collection is on the original pharmacist's instruments from the 19th and early 20th centuries, as well as documents and pictures about the history of the pharmacy in Bad Muenstereifel. Guided tours are available by appointment.

Apothecary Museum
Werther Str. 13-15
Bad Münstereifel

Phone: +49 2253/7631

Hürten Museum of Local History, Bad Muenstereifel

The museum was founded in 1912 by the Society for the Preservation of Historical Monuments. It is housed in a priest's apartment from 1167 inside a "romanesque house". The permanent exhibition shows a medieval kitchen, a bourgeois parlour of the 18th century, weaving workshop, house chapel of the canon, sacred statues and a pub of the 19th century. In addition, here are collections from the stone age, the Celts, Romans and Franks, as well as a fossil collection.

Guided tours, lectures, readings and lessons for school classes are given, and every month a free afternoon is dedicated to children.

Hürten Museum of Local History, Bad Muenstereifel 
Langenhecke 6
Bad Münstereifel

Tel.: +49 2253/8027
or +49 2253/5144

Eifelmuseum Blankenheim

The Eifel Museum sees itself as a museum in the region which depicts the landscape, nature and people in their historical development. In the main building valuable and interesting information about the history of the earth and nature in the north-west Eifel is presented.

Fossils, which can be found on the hiking trails around Blankenheim, can be compared with the exhibits here.

The Neanderthals enjoyed living in the Eifel. They settled in the Kartstein cave, a model of which can be seen in the museum. On the evidence of mammoth and cave-bear bones found, we can imagine how humans lived 60,000 years ago.

Romans and Franks could also not resist the Eifel!

Numerous glass display-cases show what the animal world around 1900 looked like, in forests, fields, hedges and the waters. Around 1900 no chemical pesticides were used in agriculture; cornflowers, poppies and many other plants bloomed at the edge of fields. We give you insight into the life and work of the rural population around 1900. You will discover how farmers plowed with yoked oxen, processed cereal and milk, how they found food in the forest and how provisions were stored.

In the Guild House, the second building of the museum, the trades and crafts of village life await you. The production of linen is described, from cleaning the flax to spinning and weaving the linen yarn. Here you can find out how the Eifel people printed the finished cloth and what rural fashions looked like.

Naturally an important part of village life is the pub with its shop, but there are also innovations like a photographer's studio and a post-office with a telephone line. You can see what daily life at home was like in the furnished rooms, such as kitchen, parlour and bedchamber.

We offer an extensive program for school classes and groups. Here the emphasis is on experience, discovery and play. On request, we will be glad to send you our brochure.

Karneval Museum in the Georg-gate, Blankenheim

Documentation of the 400-year history of carnival tradition in Blankenheim. Here visitors can find pictures, posters, documents and traditional figures from the Blankenheim Karneval.

Karneval Museum in the Georg-gate
Ahrstr. 20

Tel.: +49 2449/1091 or
Tourist Office: Tel.: +49 2449/8711

Natural History Exhibition in the Hirten-gate, Blankenheim

The natural history exhibition in the historical Hirten-gate, built in 1404, shows exceptional examples of flora and fauna from the parish of Blankenheim.

Natural History Exhibition in the Hirten-gate

Tel.: +49 2449/1573

Upper Mill in Dahlem

The Upper Mill in Dahlem was still working in the 1960's. It has a functioning mill-wheel, made of iron, which replaced its previous wooden wheel. A part of the mill mechanism has been restored to working order by the Eifel Society. A small museum adjoins the mill. On request, the Old Mill can be visited on a guided tour.

Upper Mill

Tel.: +49 2447/461

Town Museum, Euskirchen

In the Town Museum, Euskirchen, travelling cultural and historical exhibitions are held. There is a permanent exhibit in the ecclesiastical treasure chamber of the St. Martin parish, where motorcycles of the Neander motor company (1924 - 1928) are on display.

Town Museum, Euskirchen
Kirchstr. 12

Tel.: +49 2251/14386

Rhenish Industrial Museum Euskirchen, Mueller textile factory

The Museum of Industrial and Social History of the Rhineland Countryside Commission is housed in one of the old textile factories of Euskirchen. In the past simple woolen material was produced for civilian use, but above all to make uniforms, and was exported as far as America. Today the museum shows old machines and the equipment of an entirely preserved weaving mill from the 19th century. Visitors can see the most important machines working in a demonstration, so that production stages and daily life in the textile factory are graphically presented.

  • Opening hours: Tuesday - Sunday 10.00 till 17.00
  • Guided tours through the textile factory: 
    Tuesday - Saturday 11.00, 14.00, 15.00, 16.00, Sunday 11.00 - 16.00 on the hour
  • Group tours by appointment
  • Further information is available on the Internet-pages of the Countryside Commission under the title Kultur-Rheinische Industriemuseen.

Rhenish Industrial Museum Euskirchen, Mueller textile factory
Carl-Koenen-Straße 31

Tel.: +49 2251/1488-0

Fire Brigade Museum, Euskirchen-Flamersheim

In the Fire Brigade Museum, Flamersheim around 3000 historical objects connected with fire-fighting from all over the world are displayed in an exhibition space of 250 sq.metres. Next to exhibits from the history of the Rhineland fire brigades, objects from Saudi Arabia, China, Singapore and Malaysia can be seen. The oldest piece is a leather fire-bucket from 1745, which came from Steinfeld Monastery. Fire-fighting equipment, uniforms, helmets, technical devices, hoses, pumps are on display, as well as a comprehensive collection of miniature model fire-engines. Most of the objects today are donations from many befriended fire brigades. Entrance is free of charge.

Fire Brigade Museum
Große Hölle 17

Phone: +49 2255/6185

ArsKrippana, Hellenthal-Losheim

With around 200 nativity scenes from Germany and abroad exhibited in an area of 2,500 sq.metres, the Krippana is the largest and most important church nativity collection in Europe.

Krippana, Losheim
Prümer Str. 54

Tel.: +49 6557/920630

ArsTecnica, Hellenthal-Losheim

This is probably the largest model railway in Europe, entirely digitally controlled. 100 trains with up to 14 wagons travel around and across a miniature world of 110 sq.metres, on over 2000 metres of track. On the second storey of the old customs house a special exhibition is on display. Visitors can see a collection of wooden, stone and metal building kits since 1900 under the title "Playing, Learning, Inventing".


Phone: +49 6557/920640

Visitors' Mine "Wohlfahrt Pit", Hellenthal-Rescheid

In the Wohlfahrt pit below Rescheid the old ore mining tradition of the Eifel was practised until the early 20th century. The lead ore mining pit Wohlfahrt, closed in 1922, was reconstructed by the local history society Heimatverein Rescheid with the assistance of the Geological Institute of RWTH Aachen. Not only the history of ore mining is explained to visitors, but also mineral formations, fossils and other petrifactions are on display. Visitors can walk 1.5 km. through the mine. There are daily 90-minute guided tours (no tours on 24th December). In addition, guests can visit an exhibition above ground on a space of 120 sq.metres.

Visitors' Mine "Wohlfahrt Pit"

Phone: +49 2448/637
or  +49 2448/1213

Mining Museum and Visitors' Mine "Günnersdorf Pit", Mechernich

Ore-mining at the Mechernich lead mine goes back more than 2000 years; Celts and Romans prospected for the coveted lead ore. In its 2000-year history until the closing of the lead mine in 1957, many various mining techniques were employed, both open-cast and underground. Due to the peculiar characteristics of the ore in sandstone, processes and techniques were developed here which are unique and only to be found at Mechernich lead mine. In the visitors' mine today, guests can see how and under what conditions the miners extracted the lead ore. A wealth of information is given during a 90-minute guided tour of the pit, about the mining of lead at Mechernich and the history of mining in the region. "Günnersdorf Pit" at the Bleiberg, Mechernich was closed in 1957. In May 1995 the exhibition mine, in a section of the underground tunnels, opened its doors to the public. The visitors' mine and the mining museum provide information about lead mining at Mechernich and mining history in the region.

Mining Museum and Visitors' Mine "Günnersdorf Pit"
Bleibergstraße 6

Phone: +49 2443/48697

Rhenish Open-Air Museum, Mechernich-Kommern

The Rhenish Open-Air Museum and Regional Heritage Museum in Kommern documents life in the country in bygone times. Around 65 buildings from all over the Rhineland - residences, farmsteads, windmills, workshops, including community buildings such as a school-house and bakery - have been dismantled and reconstructed in the museum's grounds.

Most of the buildings have been restored to their original condition. The oldest building dates back to the
16th century. However, the furniture and equipment show living and working conditions in the
19th and 20th centuries. Meanwhile, more recent times have been represented with reconstructed buildings, for example from the 1930's. In this "hands-on" museum traditional trades, crafts and agricultural activities are demonstrated. Moreover, special exhibitions and events are held, as well as museum educational projects.

Rhenish Open-Air Museum, Kommern
Auf dem Kahlenbusch

Tel.: +49 2443/99800

Nature Conservation Centre, Nettersheim

The Nature Conservation Centre, Nettersheim, is a national centre for environmental education and information on nature, located in the German-Belgian national park Hohes Venn-Eifel. The main focus of work is on the museum facilities and the environment. It is oriented towards the varied ecological, geological and cultural history of the Eifel area.

Nature Conservation Centre
Römerplatz 8-10

Phone: +49 2486/1246

Information House 'Old Smithy', Nettersheim

In addition to the exhibition "400 Million Years of Forests" various permanent and travelling exhibitions on the geology of the region are presented. An extensive collection of fossils from the Eifel is on display. Several times a year seminars are held, at which fossils can be examined and prepared in a fossil laboratory.

Information House "Old Smithy"
Alte Bahnhofstr. 50

Tel.: +49 2486/1246

Forestry Centre, Schleiden-Gemuend

The development of the landscape, farmer's tower and the forest in Kermeter comprise the main focus of the exhibition. The museum is the departure point for a hiking trail through the forest, signposted with educational material.

Forestry Centre Gemuend
Haus des Gastes
Kurhausstr. 6

Probstei Museum, Zuelpich

The museum of local history was founded in 1909 and destroyed in 1944, together with the old St. Peter's Church. After reconstruction (1950 - 1953) it now stands next to the Catholic Church of St. Peter. In the late 1970's the museum was reorganized in cooperation with the Rhenish Museum Authority in Brauweiler.

Today visitors are given valuable information about the history of the town and shown finds from the Romans and Franks, among which are the best preserved Roman baths north of the Alps. Visitors can go on guided tours, which acquaint them with the past culture of bathing.

The Probstei Museum also houses a valuable collection of paintings by the genre painter and art professor of the Duesseldorf School of Painting, Hubert Salentin (1822 - 1910). Moreover, the Salentin Hall is used for chamber concerts and travelling exhibitions.

Probstei Museum, Zuelpich
Mühlenberg 8
Tel.: +49 2252/52284

Durch die Nutzung dieser Website erklären Sie sich damit einverstanden, dass diese Seite Cookies verwendet.